Just another WordPress.com weblog

My mom despaired of me.  I couldn’t knit, wouldn’t sew neatly, went outside the lines when colouring and was lazy in my music practice. I liked writing stories and that sort of thing, but I wasn’t creative in the way she was creative.  She could put her hand to any handicraft and produce beautiful things; she made most of my clothes until I reached my teens (when she refused to knit jumpers for me any more because it was hot work) and we rarely had a birthday card that wasn’t hand made. She tried to get me interested, to pass on her skills, but I just hadn’t the aptitude.

I think she’d be proud now, that I have discovered the joy of creativity. It’s through the lens of the camera that I see beautiful things emerge, and if I have a workshop, it’s the kitchen.  I just hope she’d forgive the wonder-web on the hems of my trousers!

The lemons and limes are for the dessert I’ve made for dinner at my cousin’s tomorrow – I’ll post a pic of that when it’s all finished.

Comments on: "On Creativity, and my Mom." (1)

  1. I have to admit that I’m like your Mama and luckily my yummy daughter has found her talent for the captured image too.
    Everyone has some creativity in there somewhere ~ hopefully they can reach it and enjoy ^_^

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

