Just another WordPress.com weblog

Plenty to be thankful for.

It’s been a hard week.  Actually, it’s been a hard six weeks; the school I work at is in an Ofsted category and we’re being very closely scrutinised by the local authority.  We also have an impending HMI visit, and the pressure’s really on.  I’m getting to work earlier and leaving later than I have ever done before, and it’s plain from colleagues’ responses to various situations that everyone’s feeling stressed: even the most laid-back amongst us have occasionally snapped.  Add to this a broken email system which is making me anxious about communication I’ve missed (I’ve already had a couple of people say ‘have you done…?’ and I’ve known nothing about it) and which shows no sign of being fixed.

But, I have to look on the bright side.  I have absolutely brilliant classes this year.  Not all of them are the world’s brightest sparks, but they are willing to have a go.  They are, for the most part, co-operative and pleasant.  When I’ve had to tell them off about something no grudges have been held, and we’ve had fresh starts in the following lesson.

Also, I work with AMAZING people.  Truly talented teachers, who are passionate about their subject and wholly dedicated to the kids.  I am proud to belong to the department I work with. Some of them are also very dear friends, and people who’ll step up to help out when needed; not only in a work sense either, as has been proved this week.

My home life is great.  The Bloke has accepted that I’m giving an extra few percent at work and has picked up the baton here.  He’s proving to be more than adequate in the kitchen and he’s definitely doing what my Mom asked him to do; he’s looking after me.

Add to that the fact that the weather’s lovely.  It’s cold, and we’ve had some wet days, but outside there’s that gorgeous spicy Autumn smell and when we were out with the dog today the sun was warm.  The light quality is beautiful and you can’t fail to feel a sense of well-being when you stop and take it all in.

On top of all that, I have five more get-ups and then I’m on holiday for a week; we’re off to beautiful Pembrokeshire and I’m excited about it. I’ll take some work with me, but that’s okay because I’ll be able to do it in a gorgeous environment, and when I’ve finished that I have a huge pile of new books to read. What more could I ask for? If I don’t have plenty to be thankful for, I don’t know who has!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

