Just another WordPress.com weblog

In Search of a Simple Life

I’ve found blogging very difficult this year.  There are several entries where I simply fly by to say ‘I haven’t forgotten’ and I’ve gone weeks and weeks without posting.  Life just seems too full, too complicated, too busy.

What I yearn for is a simple life.  I do love my job (most days) and in the past when the conversation has arisen I’ve always said I would carry on doing it even if I didn’t have to make a living for myself.  I don’t think that’s the case any more.  I’d love to have more time to keep chickens, take photographs, learn new skills, and quite frankly my working life gets in the way of that all too often.

Actually, my whole life needs a damn good declutter.  I write this at a desk which has barely a spare inch on it;  it pretty much represents my life.  There are bottles of nail polish, rolls of sellotape, crumpled paperwork, pots of pens, boxes of small change; all manner of bits and bobs which clutter my life.

Yesterday I sorted through the piles of clean laundry in the spare room.  I have perhaps 15 black t shirts.  They’re not all the same; there are v-necks, round necks, short sleeves, long sleeves, 3/4 sleeves, fitted, drapey and slinky, but really, who needs all of those?  On the stairs there are 3 pairs of my shoes.  I probably have 30 pairs altogether, and 2/3 of them are not where they should be, i.e. put away tidily.

So, what to do?  I’m going to keep this blog short, then I’m going to tidy my desk.  When I’ve done that I’m going to put away my shoes.  Then I might do some ironing, and take a few more steps towards achieving a simpler life.

Then I’m going to dream about writing a letter of resignation so that when my numbers come up on the lotto I can embark on the simple life I think I really deserve.

Comments on: "In Search of a Simple Life" (4)

  1. I can relate to that – my house is a bomb site. There’s always something more interesting to do than cleaning/tidying/decluttering! I’m going to finish putting the washing away now…

  2. My dear friend,
    Life is too short.
    Too short to wait to win lotto. Chances are you won’t.
    Too short to do a job that no longer holds your ambition, motivation and desire.
    Too short to dream about what you would like to do.
    In short, what I’m saying is, decide what you want, make a plan, and go for it.
    Turn your dream into a reality.
    Live the dream.

    I did it so can you.
    It aint easy getting there but believe me when you live the dream, life is worth living (again).

    Be decisive, Be brave, Be proactive, but most of all BE HAPPY.

    Much Love, as always, on that you can rely

    Dee

    • Ah, you’re lovely. Work’s not that bad, mostly. No worse than anything else I could do to put a roof over our heads and all that. Bottom line is I have to earn a living… or earn enough to save for a smallholding or something. The lotto’s a pleasant enough dream, and takes no effort.

      Hope you’re well xxx

  3. I think all of us would love a little more time to play, time for ourselves. Just yesterday I told E that my new dream job would be to just make food and feed people whenever they showed up. That way, I could try all the recipes I am dying to make, and still not end up homeless.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

